View Full Version : Greetings!

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

02-01-2006, 11:43 AM
Hi All,

My name is Aaron. I've been training in Aikido for about five months now. I found this site because I'm currently sidelined with a knee injury and have been seeking the experience of others who have been in like predicaments.

This also seems like a good way of getting a vicarious Aikido fix while I'm unable to train. :) Hopefully I'll be back on the mat next week, though. I find that throwing people, and getting thrown, does wonders for my peace of mind.

Janet Rosen
02-01-2006, 12:08 PM
don't rush back to training. take time to heal.

02-01-2006, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the advice, and the information! I appreciate your help. It is hard not to rush back, isn't it? Believe me, this isn't the first sports-related injury I've sustained. My right shoulder beats the local weather service every time. But my doctor's orders were for two weeks out, which sentence I have nearly served. There's no indication of serious damage, just very slight swelling and soreness. RICE and I are very close friends! :D All the same, if I still feel any soreness in my knee come Monday, I will sit out...though it will be hard.

The fantastic irony of all of this is that I came to Aikido from Shotokan, which I believed was getting a bit rough on my joints. Go figure!

02-01-2006, 12:40 PM
Hi Aaron,

Welcome to AikiWeb. Take care of your knees...

-- Jun

Karen Wolek
02-01-2006, 01:45 PM
Hi Aaron! Welcome!

5 months into my aikido training, I too injured my knee. It was a sprain. Man, did it hurt! Unfortunately, I did not take the advice of my teachers and friends (hi, Janet), and did not rest it nearly enough. Because of that, it took 5 months to finally heal! If I had just taken a couple weeks off right away, I'm sure it would have healed much faster.