PDA

View Full Version : Do you sleep with your Bokken?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

barnibis
11-15-2005, 09:50 AM
Hi All,

I have been training in Aikido for about four years, and shortly after i started out, i began sleeping with my Bokken, i haven't ever really talked about it until now.

But also for some reason, i have this feeling that i might not be the only one.

Anyone else? any thoughts ?

o..

happysod
11-15-2005, 10:08 AM
Sensei said if I waxed my bokken whilst in bed with it I'd go blind, so I don't do that anymore - anyway, it's much easier to spoon with a tanto.

Steve Mullen
11-15-2005, 10:27 AM
Otto, never give these guys the type of opening afforded by saying you sleep with anything, it makes it too easy for them.

I used to keep my old bokken down the side of my bed, but when i got my live blades and a display stand for them, i found the only place was ontop of my dresser which for the record is right next to my bed, easy access for me to fend off the nasties (and to keep my girlfriend in check :D )

James Davis
11-15-2005, 11:08 AM
Otto, never give these guys the type of opening afforded by saying you sleep with anything, it makes it too easy for them.

I used to keep my old bokken down the side of my bed, but when i got my live blades and a display stand for them, i found the only place was ontop of my dresser which for the record is right next to my bed, easy access for me to fend off the nasties (and to keep my girlfriend in check :D )
Wow, and I thought that I was the only one! I also keep my katana right beside my bed. It's very low quality (I bought it at a flea market), but it's good enough to cut somebody down once if need be. I think that if I ever actually unsheathed it in the presence of an intruder, they'd probably hurt themselves running out of the house. :p

I've never actually slept with my sword, but I keep it close at hand.

On MY side of the bed.