PDA

View Full Version : Aikido and being Vegetarian

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

dj_swim
11-10-2005, 01:00 PM
Alright, well I see that the "Aikido and being Christian" thread has drawn a lot of really good discussion (I haven't contributed but I've found the discussion very interesting)

So... I find the inter-linking of various life-philosophies very interesting, particularly because that's what got me interested in Aikido in the first place.

My first two books on Aikido were "The Art of Peace" by O Sensei and "Aikido and the Harmony of Nature" by Saotome Sensei (forgive me if this isn't the proper way to address him, I'll edit it if you let me know, I'm still fairly new to this)

The one profound idea that really drew me into this study was the mission of Aikido "ban yu ai go"... in fact it was so profound to me that upon reading it, I immediately became semi-vegetarian (definition to follow) and had the kanji tatooed down my back.

Definition of semi-vegetarian: Only eating meats that are organic or free range... in most situations this becomes identical to vegetarian due to the lack of availability of these products

To me, to love and protect all things meant all living things, not just humans. And while I have no moral objection to consuming meat... it seemed like if an animal was going to give it's life to feed me, I should not support industries that do not allow the animal to have a healthy and dignified life prior to slaughter.

Now, I have since strayed from that path a bit, but I'm on my way back onto it (I just kicked cigarettes and cola in the same day, I thought if I gave up almost all meat at the same time I might explode) and I was wondering if anyone else has interpreted this like me, or even what other people thought of it.

I'll end this opening post with advice to any vegetarians out there: If you're going to fall off the wagon, "Ribfest" is NOT the place to do it... :dead: