PDA

View Full Version : aggresive and arrogant aikidoka

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

aiki-G
10-21-2005, 11:45 AM
Hello to all at aikiweb,

I'm a young aikidoka (in toronto) and I've been training for a few months more than one year. I haven't yet graded, but I'm planning to in the next month (many of the senior grades have told me I ought to double grade to 5th kyu, since I've been showing good progress and am proficient with 1-15 of my randori no-kata. I'm personally not so fussed; whichever grade I get doesn't affect the material I learn).

Aikido is going great, and I am really enjoying it but there's just one tiny thing that gets the better of me every lesson. There's another aikidoka who started a month after I did (so he's been training for 14 months), and he was ok for a while. There was a bit of a problem with training cause he's much larger than me, I think he's an amature body-builder, and I'm still in high school so I'm much smaller than him and had trouble doing techniques on him. As I was saying, he was ok before, but in the past half year I'd been training with other people who were of similar size so I can really focus on my technique (I understand it can be very good to train with larger people so my techniques are more effective, but I still class myself as a beginner so I think I should get a good handle on the techniques before worrying about their effectiveness on someone twice my size). Thing is I've had to pair up with him again cause were training for gradings and he's made it very well known that he want's to go for yellow, so we go through kata cause were doing the same things. Also I have little choice on whether I go with him for randori cause Sensei pretty much says 'you and you up, you two off'. You go with who you're given (which does have it's benefits, I know).