PDA

View Full Version : Japanese Culture

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

John Matsushima
09-24-2005, 12:30 PM
How important is the study of Japanese culture in your training? How does it help? Do you ever intend to visit Japan for this reason?

odudog
09-24-2005, 02:57 PM
I use the culture a lot to help explain to me the reason that we do what we do and how we do it. I've used it once or twice to explain to people in my dojo including Senseis the origin or background of things. I'm totally into the culture and the resident expert. Although I'm not an expert for I haven't had the chance to live there yet. My dojo-cho will start to have me instruct some classes since I'm moving up in rank and my thing will be bring the Japanese culture, language, etc.. to the dojo. It will be trivia for my dojo mates but it will help to reinforce the language and mannerisms to me personally.

Jory Boling
09-24-2005, 05:10 PM
I constantly research some aspect of Japanese culture and apply it to training. It might have to do with the language or it might have to do with etiquette. I do plan on living/training in Japan for an extended period of time so I hope I won't be completely lost when I arrive.

nekobaka
09-24-2005, 09:44 PM
I was interested in Asia before I started aikido, and since I was 18, I didn't know much about anything. Aikido ended up being the influence that brought me to study japanese, study abroad, and eventually stay. so in my case it was pretty important. I think if you are serious about doing aikido and becoming high ranked you have to know about ettiquette in detail, and I have never seen any high ranked non-japanese person who wasn't very good at ettiquette. especially if you do aikido for 5,10 years there isn't much to think about, it just comes naturally. Culture (not ettiquette) is only important if you are interested in the spiritual aspects, and not everyone is.

Ali B
09-25-2005, 04:34 AM