PDA

View Full Version : looking for feedback

Please visit our sponsor:

aikidoka_t
09-21-2005, 03:44 PM
Greetings,

I have been for a long time, a silent viewer of these forums. I frequented the site, greatly enjoying the doka of the day as well as the pictures and discussions. I decided its high time I began participating more actively.

I studied Aikido for two years before I was forced to move far from any dojo. To this day I still practice what I know daily, and attempt to learn more through books and video. Needless to say it is nothing in comparison to what I could learn from a sensei.

Now to my point, before I studied Aikido I studied Kendo and Iaijutsu. Thus when I discovered the bokken work in Aikido the first time I was quite excited. I must say I liked it much better then Kendo, which focused a bit too much on formally striking certain points in certain ways, and found that Aikido allowed me to get a better "feel" for the weapon and its use.

I'd simply like to know what other peoples opinions on the weapons training with a bokken in Aikido, vs arts like iaijutsu or kendo.

Thanks for you time, and I greatly look forward to participating in more discussions here.

Peace,
Whitney Titus

aikido_diver
09-21-2005, 09:27 PM
I don't know too much about weapons, however one of my sensei studied Iaido, and to my understanding it reinforces what Aikido teaches. There may some differences, but what is the harm in adding to ones knowledge? I plan to take up Iaido, this is due to the fact that I want to get an understanding of the sword itself, and understand its value. I also want to explore the ideas of cutting and the realism in cutting.

Thats just my opinion and again I am not anyone special, thats just my feeling. I attend regular weapons classes, with the sensei who had studied Iaido. I find he has a greater understanding of sword, as we practice drawing the bokken, and returning it to our side, which unfortunately I have not come across in other trainings.