PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Michael Zartman
08-18-2005, 12:35 PM
Hello everyone. Greetings from Northeast Ohio.

akiy
08-18-2005, 12:45 PM
Hi Michael,

Welcome to AikiWeb.

-- Jun

Michael Zartman
08-18-2005, 01:31 PM
Hello Jun,

Thank you for the invitation to join. I very much enjoy reading the member comments in the AikiWeb forums. It is a great learning tool.

Michael

Adam Huss
08-19-2005, 01:20 PM
Welcome Micheal. I'm from the Northwest. Good to see another Ohio boy on the forum!
osu!

~adam

Michael Zartman
08-21-2005, 07:18 PM
Hi Adam--

Thanks very much for the greeting. It is good to get the word out that Ohio rocks with aikido. But what is this about OSU? (I graduated from Michigan.)

Michael

Adam Huss
08-21-2005, 08:17 PM
Haha. Thats actually kind of a running joke at my dojo. Osu is a japanese term similar to say "ooh-rah" that Marines use. There's some debate as to what it means... Anyways, my sensei let another instructor borrow a video and at the end of it "OSU" was written out digitally. The person who borrowed the video is a Wolverine fan, and my sensei a Buckeye fan so he thought it was some kind of joke or something. Anyways...welcome, good training.
cheers!
~adam

Michael Zartman
08-22-2005, 06:54 AM
Adam--

Good one! I found the following explanation of the term "osu" on www.fightingarts.com:

Topic: "O Sensei"

I have heard some Japanese martial arts students address their teachers with "O Sensei," and also "Osu Sensei." Are the two forms of address derived from the same source?

BS

Answer:

Actually the two terms are quite different. "O'Sensei" means a venerable teacher while "Osu Sensei" is an acknowledgment, such as, "Yes Sensei", "I understand Sensei," "Okay Sensei", "I get it Sensei," or "Hello Sensei."