PDA

View Full Version : seito or ka ?!?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Jeremy Young
05-03-2005, 04:00 PM
I have an interesting question/discussion for the community. At least, interesting to me. I was talking with my girlfriend (she is japanese) and i was practicing my japanese and told her "watashi wa aikido no seito desu" or that i am an aikido student. She told me no...i am an aikidoka. I asked her the difference then between seito and ka and she explained that "-ka" would denote someone who was a "professional" while "seito" would denote maybe a lower rank practitioner. Anyways, that made me think about the fact that we often say "i am an aikidoka...or he/she is an aikidoka". Is this really correct to say?? And if it really does make a difference, when do you cross the line from seito to ka? Granted i am no "ka" (i am just now preparing to test for ikkyu) but i was wondering what other aikido practitioners thought about that.

Jeremy Young
Tatsumaki Dojo
Springdale, AR

Sonja2012
05-04-2005, 01:26 AM
Jeremy,

I have just started to learn Japanese myself, so for me this is an interesting question indeed ;-) Looking forward to the answers!

Regards,
Sonja

Anat Amitay
05-04-2005, 01:32 AM
I really can't help with the japaneese, but many languages have different words for semiliar meanings.
For example, in English- a school student and a university student- you use student for both terms. In hebrew you use a different word for each, so maybe that is something of a simelarity between "ka" and "seito"- it depends on where you use the term.
Anat

Peter Goldsbury
05-04-2005, 02:12 AM