PDA

View Full Version : How many shodans around the globe?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Takuan
05-02-2005, 10:14 PM
Hello everyone! This is my first post here at the Aikeweb forum. I've been training Aikido for about 15 years on and off. Next July I will be doing my shodan exam and I'm curious to know if there is an estimate of how many Aikido black belts there are around the world. Or even if there is an estimate of how many people practice Aikido. I'm really happy to be here sharing information about Aikido related subjects. Best regards to all.

Dan Rubin
05-02-2005, 10:49 PM
This might give you some idea:

http://www.aikidojournal.com/article.php?articleID=643

RebeccaM
05-02-2005, 11:39 PM
Next July I will be doing my shodan exam and I'm curious to know if there is an estimate of how many Aikido black belts there are around the world.
I am under the impression that shodans are a dime a dozen.

When I make the mistake of telling someone not involved in the martial arts I have a black belt they start oohing and ahhing. Even after I've told them that my shodan is roughly the equivalent of a high school diploma. It's very silly. No one oohs and ahhs over high school diplomas.

Melissa Fischer
05-02-2005, 11:51 PM
What about the huge number of shodans who get the belt then quit having "been there, done that". Do they get counted?

It's my understanding that shodan stands for "serious student", kinda neat.

Hey Rebeccah, we miss you here in Seattle! Come on back an bring that nidan bro of yours!

Melissa

ChrisHein
05-03-2005, 01:56 AM
Rank is over rated.

JJF
05-03-2005, 05:54 AM
Interesting question. Let's assume only actively practicing shodans are valid - then we can make a head count. I'll start.

ONE!!

ruthmc
05-03-2005, 07:21 AM
Interesting question. Let's assume only actively practicing shodans are valid - then we can make a head count. I'll start.

ONE!!
LOL!

TWO!! :D

Ruth