PDA

View Full Version : Iyengar Yoga & Aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

johnhannon
02-06-2005, 11:55 AM
I'm just curious if there are any Aikidoka out there that practice Iyengar Yoga. If so, I would love to hear you thoughts on the relationship between the disciplines.

Thanks.

Kevin Leavitt
02-06-2005, 04:39 PM
They are very much in line IMHO. I am in the process of combining my aikido training with Iyengar's asana. It is all about alignment, balance, strength, and posture. I think they are very much in line and complimentary.

Qatana
02-07-2005, 04:15 PM
Of all the yoga styles I have studired, I like Iyengar the best. Something about the attitude of the teachers, they are direct & no nonsense and know what temperature to keep a dojo.I've been pracricing yoga for over thirty years, and while I know that flexibility and stretch are completely unnecessary in aikido, I'm sure glad I have them.
No to mention the happy absence of new age esotericism. Which I consider a completely different thing than spirituality.

johnhannon
02-08-2005, 07:01 PM
I have not studied much Yoga, but I have friends that study Bikram, Ashtanga, and Iyengar.
Iyengar certainly appeals to me the most-- particularly after reading the first few chapters of
Light on Yoga. Also, I find the chapters of Pranayama to be quite interesting. Prana seems to be very similar ki-- at least according to my limited understanding of the practice. Due to it's trendyness here in the states Yoga is quite an expensive practice to start training in-- although I understand after a while it becomes a private, individual practice. A nice ballance to the social aspects of Aikido, I think.

Bill Danosky
02-14-2005, 11:19 AM