PDA

View Full Version : splinters and dents in bokken

Please visit our sponsor:

lenna
12-08-2004, 09:06 PM
I am a beginner in Aikido and I just had one of my first class times using the bokken :dead: . Due to my incredibly bad form, after class I asked my class mates where I could acquire a affordable bokken to practice at home with. I was given a slightly beaten up bokken that needs repair. I was told to sand it and oil it or put some kind of wood protector on it. But there are big deep 'scratches' left from big splinters :uch: . Should I just sand inside it so it doesn't catch anything or fill it in with like saw dust and wood glue. The biggest 'scratch' is 2 1\2 centimeters long and 4 millimeters wide.

Shipley
12-08-2004, 10:25 PM
Hi Colleen,

Just sand it out so that there isn't a new place to start a splinter (ie sand out all of the cracks, and make everything pointy nice and smooth). Filling back in rarely works as the filler tends to just pop out again. The finish I like to use is 2 parts linseed oil to two parts tung oil to one part beeswax, heat it gently until the beeswax melts and you can mix it all together, then rub it in with a rag with enough friction to keep everything warm and work it well into the wood.

Hope this helps,

Paul

ian
12-09-2004, 04:40 AM
Wet the dented bits with boiling water (this will expand the wood), when dry, sand it. (you need to prevent splinters when you are 'drawing' the bokken. Make sure there are no large splits - if there are, do not use it for paired weapon work ('cos bits fly off it and hit people in the eye!)

Oiling it will protect it slightly, but do not oil the handle (will give you blisters - natural grease from your hands will keep handle in good shape)

ChristianBoddum
12-09-2004, 07:07 AM
You can dissolve some wood glue (water based) in some water and apply it where there may be cracks, be generous - let it soak ,dry for 24 hours , then sand and oil.
This way nasty surprises should be prevented.