View Full Version : Aikido and Jujitsu training

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Adam Bailey
12-08-2004, 06:52 AM
Hello, I had taken Aikido for a very short time before training in Brazilian Jujitsu(I know it is not the same as Japanese jujutsu and this is the bearing of my question) Would it be prudent to study Aikido at the same time I am also studying jujitsu? I would be taking both from entirely different teachers, and from my experience they are different techniques in a somewhat(though losely) related arts. I would appreciate all Aikidoka, and especially yudansha's opinions. I feel I may also add, I have never nor do I wish to compete in Brazilian Jujitsu, it is against my nature, being the cause of someone else's failure.

Adam Bailey
12-08-2004, 07:09 AM
I sincerely hope I do not have to challenge anyone to give me their opinion.

12-08-2004, 07:29 AM
Would it be prudent to study Aikido at the same time I am also studying jujitsu?

Why not? Assuming that you have the time, money and energy to devote time to both.

I feel I may also add, I have never nor do I wish to compete in Brazilian Jujitsu, it is against my nature, being the cause of someone else's failure.

Not wanting to compete is fine. Most people who train in boxing, judo, bjj, muay thai, sambo/sombo, etc....don't compete. Having said that, I suggest you re-examine your thoughts about competition. Competition isn't about "causing someone else's failure". It's another opportunity to learn.

12-08-2004, 07:31 AM
Never challenged, slow yes, challenged no

I have never nor do I wish to compete in Brazilian Jujitsu, it is against my nature, being the cause of someone else's failure without intending to antagonise, this does smack of hubris, so I'd probably suggest competing anyway but as a means of experiencing it rather than "to win", removing all that dreadful chest-beating at being the best..