PDA

View Full Version : When to start your own dojo.

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

JayRhone
11-14-2004, 06:53 PM
I am new to Aikido but spent more than half my life training in MA. In my old style one would usually attain a 2nd dan before going out to start their own dojo. I am wondering out of those of you with a dojo what Dan ranking you were when you started your dojo? Also how much time you spend training in your own dojo (that is, by yourself) compared to training with your initial dojo and if you have noticed time difference with advancing dan ranks from when you were training and when you were teaching? Peace =0) Smile! I hope this makes sense.

arjandevries
11-15-2004, 07:11 AM
Hi Jay,

I have practised aikido for 10 years now. I have practised MA for the last 21 years.
I teach a monday evening class in my dojo. Now I am trying to find a place outside my hometown to start a new group.
I am planning to keep my monday group as long as possible. Also I try to keep practising in my hometown dojo. So this will be a busy scedule but for me it is the best one.
O, I am a nidan.

On the other hand: your question is a bit strange because you have just started aikido. So at first: go practise!

Hope this helps,

Greetings,

Arjan de Vries

ian
11-15-2004, 09:09 AM