PDA

View Full Version : People Trying To Find Fault In Aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Adrian Moore
10-29-2004, 04:26 AM
Hi again,

anyone who read my last post will know i am new to this site and aikido in general..

one thing i have found since i started training and speaking about it to people is that they are forever telling me how ineffective it is in real life, blah blah. a friend asked me to show him some the other day and then proceeded to mock me, saying "all you need to do is ask the bouncer to hold your wrist and you'll be fine". first of all, i told him i was not training to take on bouncers but for personal development.

anyway, what is it about aikido that draws such criticism? ignorance? lack of knowledge? fear? no ther martial art is criticised as much. is it because most of the others are offensive martial arts which inadvertanly push the practitioner towards trying to be the hardest and "baddest", whereas aikidoka are happy to sit back in the knowledge they are safe behind their powerful and deadly art?

your thoughts..

great site, btw

Dazzler
10-29-2004, 04:32 AM
In a word 'ignorance' and 'misunderstanding'

I know thats 2 words....but thats aiki for you! you think you are learning one thing and then you find out you were learning something else.

Ignore the doubters...its their problem!

asp
10-29-2004, 04:41 AM
In a word 'ignorance' and 'misunderstanding'

I know thats 2 words....but thats aiki for you! you think you are learning one thing and then you find out you were learning something else.

Ignore the doubters...its their problem!

I agree. Aikido is an art very difficult to understand. The only way to fully understand it is thru practice.

Adrian Moore
10-29-2004, 04:46 AM
indeed.. but what is about the art that draws criticism? is it because there is not really any punching, kicking etc? (i know there are some stikes, so please don't correct!!).