PDA

View Full Version : Ki excercises?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

nmrmak
10-28-2004, 07:17 AM
Hey all!
I've been training for about two months now, and I'd really like to get to know the ki part to aikido. Could you share some ki excercises with me, or links to where i may find them?

SeiserL
10-28-2004, 09:07 AM
Work on proper form and alignment.
Visualize energy coming from your center and extending past your technqiue.
Calm the mind.
Blend with the momentum of the Uke.
relax, breath, and enjoy yourself.

And of course,
Relax completely
Weight on the underside.
Focus on the one-point, center.
Extend Ki.

IMHO, it comes through training. It is like you "let" Ki, you can't "make" it.

nmrmak
10-28-2004, 09:23 AM
I agree that everything comes through training, it's just that i've read many cases where people trained only the physical part of aikido, and later had trouble expanding their spiritual and mental sides. I would truly like to experiment with ki, as i find it as interesting, if not even more interesting than the actual techniques. I'd like to be able to use ki in a technique.

MaryKaye
10-28-2004, 09:44 AM
We've been doing a partner exercise sensei calls "ki waterfall". If you stand behind uke and pull down on her shoulders with both hands you can make her fall backwards, but there is a lot of resistance. (Gently--the ukemi can be surprisingly unpleasant for a simple back fall.) The "ki waterfall" involves brushing your hands down uke's back very lightly, then on the third or fourth brush contacting slightly more firmly and pulling them down. The objective is to touch in a way that causes their mind to move, so that the physical resistance is reduced. The difference between doing it well and doing it badly is clear; and the principle translates to techniques (we're working on nikyo a lot lately) fairly straightforwardly.