PDA

View Full Version : Favorite aikido books?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

carlin
03-18-2001, 08:45 AM
What are your favorite aikido books? The only one I own is Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere. I am new to aikido training but I have followed many threads on aikiweb, aikidofaq, etc. I am most interested in books that describe techniques and explain philosophy and that might skip past the basic FAQ info on aikido. Thanks for your time.

Mike Carlin

Matt Banks
03-18-2001, 09:25 AM
total aikido-gozo shioda
dynamic aikido-gozo shioda

Good novel to read ''Angry White Pyjamas'' by Robert Twigger.

ummm oh yeah

''Training with the master''
compilation of photos of training with osensei. That book is fantastic;.

Matt Banks

mornmd
03-18-2001, 09:51 AM
I highly recommend "The Blackbelt Master Course in Nihon Goshin Aikido," recently out by Sensei Walter Kopitov and Frank Bowers. NGA is a derivative of Daito-Ryu and not directly from Ueshiba. This book shows many techniques and applications, without trailing off into mysticism/religion. Great for anyone interested in sister arts to Ueshiba's aikido.

Matthew

Nick
03-18-2001, 10:51 AM
I like "Complete Aikido" By Suenaka and Watson, "Angry White Pajamas" by Twigger, and "The Essence of Aikido" By Ueshiba/Stevens was good because of the pictures and the listing of O'sensei's doka. Non-aikido but budo/japan related books that I enjoy are Shibumi by Trevanian, The Master of Go by Kawabata, the Ha Gakure by Tsunetomo, Bushido: The Warrior's Code by Nitobe, and The Way of Chuang Tzu by Merton, though the last one may be hard to find-- I borrowed my dad's copy that's copyrighted 1967... an excellent book, though...

I'll come up with more when I get home...

Nick

mj
03-18-2001, 11:54 AM
All excellent...
Living Aikido by Bruce Klickstein.
...Whatever happened to him?

And the best...
It's a lot like dancing by Terry Dobson

Kami
03-18-2001, 01:04 PM