PDA

View Full Version : I'm tired of questioning my Aikido.

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

drDalek
09-13-2004, 08:11 AM
I have been doing Aikido for about 2.5 or so years, give or take a month here or there. In this time I have gone through a few stages that I believe are quite common.

At first I was a zealous newbie, ready to believe the hype surrounding Aikido, how it makes you an unstoppable ass-kicking machine and all of that silly Seagal-action-movie type stuff.

Then I became a doubting beginner, constantly asking myself if this would work against this, or if this would work against that. I was obsessed with Aikido for a while, it constantly occupied my mind and I was learning alot about the hidden ideas and philosophies behind all this peace-love-harmony stuff. I also worked very hard to become technically as proficient as I could by specifically focusing on breathing / posture / blending / not using force each lesson.

These days, I am tired of being the doubting regular, I know that my newbie zealotry was immature and a sign of ignorance about the art and I dont need or feel like going back to that. I just want to stop constantly doubting myself. Sure I felt like I was accomplishing a lot by pushing myself to overcome these insecurities but I dont know if I actually did overcome them, I still have a lot of work to do but Aikido cannot occupy such a large slice of my life anymore.

I also feel that following the what-if road (what if its in a bar, what if he is armed with a knife, what if he kicks this way or punches that way) is a way to either burn-out in Aikido or get yourself hurt trying to prove something. I am not a martial arts superhero yet, and I would probably die long before I reach the kind of mastery I am striving towards, but if I quit I wont have anything to do after work, I will lose my dojo social circle, I will go flabby and out of breath again.