PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Canuck

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Steve Kubien
08-20-2004, 10:59 AM
Hello everybody,

My name is Steve Kubien and I have just signed up to begin aikido at the Renseikan Dojo in Pickering, Ontario, Canada. I went looking on the web for information about aikido and found these pages.

I have zero martial arts experience but I have been interested for years. My 4 year old daughter wanted to learn karate and it turns out our sensei (Ward Jardine) instructs karate, aikido and Jodi. Aikido interests me so...here I am! Marissa (my daughter) may end up studying aikido as she gets older but for now, the social interaction, physical fitness, discipline and self-defense skills are more important than which art she learns.

Personally, I am 33 years old and badly out of shape. I know aikido will help with the second part of that. Outside of the physical benefits of aikido (better fitness, ability to defend myself and others etc) I would like to gain better self-control, a better method of dealing with stress, and a form of spirituality I can believe in and practise. I know Sensei Jardine and the other aikidoka (I hope I've got that right!) will be a source of guidance for me on this path.

I have a question for the masses....When I write like this, I wish to do so in proper form. Is it proper to capitalize "aikido" and "sensei" and other such things? I am very respectful of such etiquette's and customs and I have no wish to offend anyone. Thanks.

I look forward to this journey,

Steve Kubien
Ajax, Ontario, Canada

akiy
08-20-2004, 11:03 AM
Hi Steve,

Welcome, and thank you for your introduction.

As far as capitalizing "aikido" and "sensei," I personally don't.

-- Jun

suren
08-20-2004, 12:31 PM
Hi Steve,