PDA

View Full Version : new to aikido, and i have some questions

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

AikiRaven
07-15-2004, 09:05 AM
Hello My anme is Mark, I am 16 and i just recently joined a local Aikido Dojo, so far im loving it, I noticed i am the only young person (under the age of 20) in my entire dojo.... then i look at my best friends Gojo ryu karate dojo and its packed full of kids. why is this? anyways, i love the art and i am having trouble syncronizing my legs and arms in the Sumi Otoshi and getting the opponent off balance then throwing. thank you all and look forward to posting some more :)

Mark Kearney
Brampon Ontario Canada

Troy
07-15-2004, 09:13 AM
I've been training in Aikido for a bit over 3 months, and when I was new, I had the same problem. The main thing about Aikido that I have found out, is that you need to play with it. Try to feel for the other person to get off ballance and what-not. I still have trouble getting my legs to do the right thing... like on the left part of my body, my feet will be right but not my harmd and hands; and on my right side, my arms and hands will be right, but not my feet! It can be very frustraiting. I've gotten better though. It all takes time. Some people catch on faster than others. This is true in everything.

And to answer your question about the Karate Dojo; The young kids where probably drawn to the "wow! I will know how to kick someones ass!" aspect of the art. A third Kyu at my dojo said once "if you want to learn how to hurt someone, take karate. But if you want a martial art that will give you alot back and help you in life, then take Aikido."

stern9631
07-15-2004, 10:32 AM
Through some patience and practice you will build muscle memory and this problem will slowly fade.