PDA

View Full Version : general question

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

markhill
06-25-2004, 06:43 PM
I've been lurking on the forums for a bit mainly for information and insight because I really wanna start learning aikido. As of yet I haven't been to any dojos. But I have a couple concerns. I know, as with any other martial art there is always a risk for injury. But I was wondering if anybody could offer some insight. My main concern are my hands and my wrists. Reason being, is that I'm an art teacher, so my hands are my livelyhood, and I can't really afford to hurt them all that bad. So I was wondering if any experienced or even newer aikidoka could share their opinions and experiences. Its mainly just my hands and wrists I'm worried about, everything else is fair game. This is something I kind of wanted to find out before I went dojo searching. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Sorry this is so long-winded :D Best wishes

mark

MaryKaye
06-25-2004, 08:57 PM
One thing you should do when evaluating a dojo is talk to the students about injuries. There is some risk of injury in any school or style, but some dojo have a lot more than others, either because they practice a riskier form of aikido or because they're less safety-oriented. If you wish to make safety a priority you can choose your school with that in mind.

My dojo has a lot of older students (I'm younger than average at 40) and we're rather careful. There are certainly some injuries but it doesn't feel overly risky to me; our main complaints are shoulders and knees, though I know of one cracked rib. In a year and a half of regular practice I've done nothing worse than straining a muscle. There is a strong emphasis on knowing the line between safe and dangerous moves and staying firmly on the safe side.