PDA

View Full Version : Why do you practice martial arts?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

theblakeman
06-20-2004, 09:33 PM
What reason do you practice martial arts for, be it Aikido or otherwise?
The reason I started was because well *embarrassed smile* I like a lot of Kung Fu movies as well as anime, which involves martial arts. These mediums really appealed to me and it made me quite interested in it. I wanted to learn martial arts so I could be able to protect myself and others :D
Now, what are your reasons?

Geoff Flather
06-22-2004, 05:50 PM
Hello Blake,

I probably began my martial arts training for the same reason we all do, insecurity, now I have been practicing most of my life, I believe it is to be mentally free, assist, and support others toward this concept, honestly.

Thanks for asking.

Keith_k
06-23-2004, 12:07 AM
I started practicing martial arts (not aikido) because I knew I guy who worked as a bail bond enforcement agent; commonly called a bounty hunter. I got this absurd idea that this was the kind of work I wanted to pursue. Now I do it just for the sheer enjoyment of it.

Keith

SeiserL
06-23-2004, 08:07 AM
Like most, I think I started out of fear and insecurity. The usual ego stuff.

When asked why I still study I usually respond that its because I don't golf. I could never get past the windmill and clown's face.

Actually, I just train because I like the training and I like the people. When you do it too long its just an identity thing. Its who you are, not just what you do.

Zoli Elo
06-23-2004, 01:16 PM
Why do I now practice martial arts? - Habit that has been instilled due to a long trend of repetition.

Why did I start to practice martial arts? - Meet girls. :)

Anders Bjonback
06-24-2004, 04:53 PM
Because I love training.