PDA

View Full Version : Bokken Kata

Please visit our sponsor:

Amy Mann
06-19-2004, 06:10 PM
I've been learning Aikido for about 2 months now, and I really enjoy the bokken work we do, but I'm really bad at it... Does anyone know any good websites for bokken kata so that I can have something to learn and practise with at home? Thanks.

Greg Jennings
06-19-2004, 06:26 PM
Hi Amy,

Welcome to Aikido. The problem is that there isn't one, uniform, bokken syllabus for all of aikido. You'll have to find one that is specific to your particular aikido group.

Since you don't say what it is and you don't have it in your profile, most of us won't know how to help.

Regards,

M G
06-30-2004, 04:15 AM
Hello, this is one of the kata's i like to train at home, i've tried to explain it step by step the best i can, but if you have any questions i'll be glad to anwser them.

Niho zenshin zengo kiri rensu kude.

Starting position: N, right foot forward.
· N, step in with left, shomen uchi.
· N, step in with right, shomen uchi.
· Z, 180° turn on the spot, shomen uchi.
· Z, step in with right, shomen uchi.
· Z, step in with left, shomen uchi.
· N, 180° turn on the spot, shomen uchi.

· N, step in with left, step in with right, shomen uchi.
· Z, step in with right, step in with left, shomen uchi.

· N, step in with left, step in with right, tsuki.
· Z, step in with right, step in with left, tsuki.

· N, step back with right and defend with bokken above the head (roof).
· Z, 180° turn on the spot, step in with left, shomen uchi.
· N, 180° turn on the spot, open your left hand, cut open belly with (only) right hand.
· N, lift bokken, join left hand, step in with left, shomen uchi.
· N, step back with left and defend with bokken above the head (roof).
· Z, 180° turn on the spot, step in with right, shomen uchi.
· N, 180° turn on the spot, open your right hand, cut open belly with (only) left hand.
· N, lift bokken, join right hand, step in with right, shomen uchi.