PDA

View Full Version : Another Newbie

Please visit our sponsor:

Joshua Kaufman
05-20-2004, 12:04 PM
Hello. Four years ago, I called a dojo and set up a meeting to try aikido. I did this because I was lost in my life, and looking for something to show me the way. I never took that meeting. Instead, I took the LSATs, and went to Law School at night while continuing to work full time. Throughout school, I told myself, when I am done, I will go to the Dojo. I graduated on Saturday, and last night was my first time practicing.
Incredible. I was on mats with very advanced students, and they showed ME respect, patience and understanding. I have never felt anything quite like that before.
I rock climb. In climbing, beginners are often (though not always,and not by everyone) initiated by fire socially as well as in skills. Last night, I was made to feel like a moral equal, though I was advanced in skills.
Aikido, form what little I know and have read, seems to closely match my own philosophy of how one fits in the universe.
My legs are a little sore, i find myself struggling to remember even one of the things I was shown last night, but all I know is I can't wait to go back on Monday.
If the community on these forums is anything like what I felt last night, I fear you may be hearing a great deal from me.

I look forward to hearing from, and learning from you all.

Josh Kaufman

Joshua Kaufman
05-20-2004, 01:35 PM
I'm sorry, I realize I wrote that I was treated as a moral equal even though I WAS advenced in skills, obviosuly, as a complete beginner, I meant to write I was NOT Advanced in skills.

Greg Jennings
05-20-2004, 01:46 PM
Hi Joshua,

Welcome to the infinite journey.

Best regards,

DarkShodan
05-20-2004, 02:20 PM
Welcome! Or is the infinite destination? I should start that thread.