PDA

View Full Version : what to teach 8 yr old?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

master35
05-06-2004, 02:24 AM
good day to you sirs,

i'm a newbei in aikiweb forum and would like to ask your opinion on what techniques an 8yr old could easily appreciate?
btw im a 1st dan aikido instructor and been teaching for 7yrs. This is only for conversation purposes. :)

philipsmith
05-06-2004, 02:35 AM
I teach a regular Childrens class and teach all techniques except pins (other than Ikkyo). Kids seem to like it. Obviously some modification is needed with Kotegaeshi etc so that the wrist isn't damaged but otherwise anything goes.

batemanb
05-06-2004, 04:28 AM
ditto Phil

rgds

Bryan

Ron Tisdale
05-06-2004, 08:15 AM
I'd have someone teach them judo. Once their bones harden up a bit (what, about 15 or so?) then start aikido. YMMV

Ron

GaiaM
05-06-2004, 09:58 AM
I think it's great that kids start aikido that early. If it is already a big part of their lives by the time they reach puberty perhaps it will be a positive influence during their teenage years. I agree with those who said that aikido is ok even for young kids as long as care is taken with their joints.
Gaia

master35
05-07-2004, 12:25 AM
I think it's great that kids start aikido that early. If it is already a big part of their lives by the time they reach puberty perhaps it will be a positive influence during their teenage years. I agree with those who said that aikido is ok even for young kids as long as care is taken with their joints.
Gaia
we here in the philippines have a stereo-type to make our children enrole in taekwondo coz that's where the the good families are enroling their children. But since my kids wants to learn my art(maybe to impress me) i teach them. But its more of games. And yes i agree w/ you it does influece them.
The question is what technique could youngsters aprreciate?