View Full Version : Suspicious Solicitation

Please visit our sponsor:

02-27-2004, 08:32 AM
FWIW, this seems an MA version of the charity scams to come out of Africa. As my contact info was gotten through AikiWeb, I post this here. Based on precedents, I'm very doubtful that this is legitimate. I'm willing to stand corrected should someone have inside info.

I searched Snopes (Urban Legends) and Google on 'Serbian Martial Arts Library Project'. Snopes returned nothing. Google only had this (nothing) http://www.websitings.com/guestbook/guestbook.cfm?random=jdressel


This is a message from dejanbanovic at AikiWeb Forums (
http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/index.php ). The AikiWeb Forums owners cannot
accept any responsibility for the contents of the email.

To email dejanbanovic, you can use this online form:


OR, by email:


This is the message:

Dear Friend,

I was found your e-mail address on the Aiki Web Aikido Forums, and I writting
to you in hope that you will be able to help me. I'm founder of 'Serbian Martial
Arts Library Project'.
Purpose of this Project is creating a lending Library in the local Aikido Club,
in Kraljevo, central Serbia, for the benefit of all people from this country
interested in martial arts.
Now, this Project is very difficult to realize, and need many financial helps.
It is not possibly for me to continue work on this Project, because financial
help for this Project is necessary.
Here in in my country social situation is very difficult. So, if you are able
to help me financially, please send me to my address below your donation through
Western Union bank transfer, or through a valid cheque, to my address below,
through air-mail, or surface mail.

I hope that you will be able to give me anykind support in my honorable effort.
In any case, thank you, and I will looking forward to hear from you, and hope
to stay in contact with you.

For 'Serbian Martial Arts Library Project',
your's sincerely,
Dejan Banovic, founder

My address:

02-27-2004, 08:41 AM
did a bit of digging around too...

found this:


L. Camejo
02-27-2004, 09:22 AM
Hey, I got one of those e-mails too.

What may be nice is if Mr. Banovic could log in to the forums or this thread, introduce himself and explain why he felt it necessary to approach people thru direct unsolicited e-mailing instead of opening a discussion where he could explain his situation in more detail and get responses on how to proceed with the project and gain funding for it.

What do you folks think?


Ron Tisdale
02-27-2004, 10:06 AM
I got one too, and I agree Larry, he should open a topic and post. I didn't reply to the email, and won't be.


02-27-2004, 11:42 AM
I got it, too. I blocked it and deleted it.

Mel Barker
02-27-2004, 11:42 AM
I received it as well. This is the second one. It screams racket.

I constantly have friends forward email hoaxes to me, so I'm sure it'll dupe a few.

Perhaps the fellow dispensing Aikido advice without ever training will donate.


Paula Lydon
02-27-2004, 04:46 PM
~~Sounds like everyone in this forum got that e-mail. I quickly found my delete button~~

02-27-2004, 07:02 PM
Gee ... I feel left out. That or my anti-spam filters dealt with it before it ever reached me.

02-28-2004, 02:46 AM
hmm.. I replied. Asking him to better explain himself and prove his cause.

Let's see his response

02-28-2004, 03:57 PM
I would suggest to be careful clicking on the link. It's probably classic spam, and they get money simply of you click on their link.

If you all deleted, I'd suggest finding a way of blocking it, too.

Josh Bisker
02-28-2004, 11:07 PM

Any idea?