PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Please visit our sponsor:

Sparta
12-26-2003, 06:00 PM
Good morning/evening to everyone... I've posted a few times here already, mostly in the aikido haiku forum and a bit in the spiritual forum, so it's a wonder that I'm just noticing the introductions page.

My name is Alan Bailey. I'm currently serving in the U.S. Army in S. Korea and an aikidoka at Yongsan Aikikai in Seoul. I'm very new to aikido, but not to eastern philosophy. I'm a philosophy major, and I'll be leaving the military soon to finish my BA in Texas. As for aikido, I've been practicing for about a month and a half at this point and am truly amazed and enthralled with all aspects of it. My mind is almost completely blown after each practice for at least 2 hours... it's amazing being able to learn while completely bypassing the intellect. Anyway, I've taken to study O Sensei's works as well as the Omoto religion because I like to study the roots of things as well as their fruits and branches. Anyway... I hope that serves as an introduction. It's been a pleasure reading and posting on this site. Also, I'd like to send a quick thank you to those responsible for this website. You've done a wonderful job here. Thanks.

:ai: :ki:

mj
12-26-2003, 06:11 PM
I am not a major poster here, but welcome :)

This is a wonderful site, a veritable encyclopaedia of aikido.

akiy
12-26-2003, 10:42 PM
Hi Alan,

Welcome to the AikiWeb Forums and thanks for your introduction. Also, thanks for the compliments on the site!

-- Jun

Jeff Tibbetts
12-27-2003, 06:05 AM
I'm a philosophy major, and I'll be leaving the military soon to finish my BA in Texas.
If you're going to be in Austin, I know a philosophy major there by the name of Matt Hearst. Keep an eye out for him and if you see him it would really freak him out to say hi from me. I'm in Iowa, so I'm sure he would be surprised :) Just a longshot, but it'd be worth it.

Adrian Smith
12-28-2003, 05:18 AM
Hi Alan! Welcome to Aikiweb!