PDA

View Full Version : tell me the truth...

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

minasaek
12-10-2000, 04:55 PM
i am to aikiweb forums for two weeks so i am new to this .After reading a lot of threads , posts e.t.c. i've realised that most of you behave , react , or even talk about MA as if those were your religion...Without the intention to be bad , i believe that MA were developed to satisfy feelings of ours such us fear, aggresive insticts,and other...
after a lot of years people have managed to transform them into religions , ways of peace ,etc...not seeing their true use...
meaning... developing good health , healthy mind and undouptlly a nice way to express our bad energy working with our body and mind.

Having the best of intension, this was always a question of mine#

sincerely Aleksander...

Simone
12-11-2000, 05:07 AM
But that's what we (at least I) do!

Simone

Nick
12-11-2000, 10:55 AM
I still don't understand your question... if it happens to be "is Aikido a religion?", than I'd point you to aikidofaq.com as they have a more in-depth article about it. I feel Aikido is a adjunction to my choice of faith, not a replacement...

Nick

ian
12-11-2000, 11:07 AM
Yep, I'd agree with both these replies. Aikido has definately altered my philosophy towards life. It has definately influenced my religious beliefs (more through introduction to zen - although aikido isn't necessarily rooted in zen).

Although you presume that martial arts was principally aggressive and then became a spiritual thing, some people would argue the converse. Many aspects of the martial arts derive origianlly from china e.g. Tai Chi Chian. These were thought to have derived as excercises to prevent joints seizing up through long periods of meditation. Any japanese martial art with 'do' automatically has religious conatations ('do' being equivalent to 'tao' or 'the way').