PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Please visit our sponsor:

Lance Hancock
09-26-2003, 12:00 PM
Hello, My name is Lance. I have been lurking here for awhile, I have just been to busy to post anything. I do however finally have something(s) I hope the forum will find interesting to talk/debate/not flame me for.

A little bit about my self: I started training in Aikido in '95 as well as Shorin-Jin Ryu Ninjitsu. I was only 13 at the time. Ironically this dojo set the standard for my idea of everyone I have been in since. I did pretty well, I guess.
Until my second year where I was diagnosed with Bi-Polar Disorder, my attendance was shook up, and I severely(sic) injured my back during randori as an uke.

I spent the next 3 years in and out of hospitals, but my desire to train never stopped. As much as my disorder would let me I poured my self into my training. At 18, I felt it had paid off enough for me to begin formal instruction once again.

I went to a community education Aikido course, which I soon found out was taught by the first shodan of my sensei.
I would not meet her for another year.
It was difficult going from a hard AAA style where atemi was often used, and osae-waza ment sore wrists for a few days to Seidokan where everything has been light and happy... disapointing at times.

I have stuck with it for 3 years, dealing with a very eccentric sensei, who doesn't seem to understand my disorder. I even went to summer camp (Hi Bronson! Enki and Sayu were fun!), and upon returning I was given one of the greatest conflicts of my life, my nikyu.

Didn't mean to make that sound like a sob story but as much as I love Aikido, it has put me through tremendous stress, and mental anguish. I feel alot of the time I should leave my dojo, but the people I workout with are some of my only friends (We only have 6-7 people in the school at best).

I just need to be more like I was when I was twelve: excited, energetic, and posseing danshin. I suppose.