PDA

View Full Version : ki power bad for you / evil??

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Unregistered
09-16-2003, 11:56 AM
I'm just wondering about this cos my friend brought up the subject of "ki" today.

In my experience after I started training in Aikido "ki" exercises I started having very bad demonic nightmares... much like in Bruce lee's Dragon... Now is this a coinsidence, dreams are strange things and maybe just the fact that I have seen Dragon and have also heard rumours/opinion that Bruce lee died an early death cos he couldn't control his "ki" power...

I have a Christian friend who says "ki" power comes from the devil and is evil... but why do we all have it inside us assuming you believe we were created by God??

Conversly to the bruce lee arguement O sensei was 86 when he died and must have done a lot of exercise to build his "ki" power

What does everyone think about this?

twilliams423
09-16-2003, 01:51 PM
The concept of evil and the devil is exactly that.... a human, intellectual concept. It "exists", as such, in our minds.

Ki,subtle universal energy, is outside the realm of what we think about things. It isn't restricted to what you want to think it is.

Is there a relationship between ki and mental energy, thoughts, dreams, etc.? Sure.

Everything dies. That's natural. Just like ki. Death is not evil. It's just in the nature of the way things are.

Don't worry about it. Enjoy Aikido.

akiy
09-16-2003, 02:02 PM
This thread moved to the Spiritual forum.

-- Jun

ChristianBoddum
09-16-2003, 02:12 PM
Hi !

Regarding the bad dreams,

you have the option of prayer before sleep,

I sometimes pray specifically for the way my dreamlife works when I feel it's needed,

you could try it.

The issue of Ki/Chi is a little complex,

your christian friend may refer to the chinese concept which is different than the japanese (you could read "Ki in daily life by K.Tohei).