View Full Version : What's your background?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Ari Bolden
09-15-2003, 01:58 PM
This thread isn't about Martial arts background, but rather post secondary background.

I have found many aikidoka with philosophy degrees (like myself). Are we drawn to such areas because of aikido or vice versa?

Just curious why (no pun)...

What's your degree in? (besides a degree in school of life or hard knox... grin)

Ghost Fox
09-16-2003, 06:36 AM
Bachelors in Electrical Engineering Technology.

Wiccan pre-dedicant.

09-16-2003, 07:00 PM
I studied psychology, interpersonal communication, and Japanese. My degree ended up being Interpersonal Communications with a focus in Industrial Communication.

09-16-2003, 10:26 PM
Hmmm...I started out as a Journalism student and English major and eventually ended up with an Honours BA (BAH ;)) in Philosophy.

Hey Ari --- where did you go to school?

More grist for the mill --- other folks in my dojo are: BA in English (Sensei), BSc in Mechanical Engineering (my husband), BA in Music, and one gentleman is currently completing his Phd in Clinical Psychology.

Incidentally, (career-wise) we have a lot of students who are (or were) musicians...

09-16-2003, 10:49 PM
Ba Econ Accounting & Finance.

I just wanted how to learn how to twist people when they don't give me my Cashflows.

Ikkyo - thats one for the numerically challenged people out there!

Clayton Kale
09-16-2003, 10:55 PM
BA Print Journalism and a few hours shy of a BA in American History.

09-16-2003, 11:03 PM
B.A. in Psychology & Philosophy

M.A. in Marriage, Family & Child Counseling

Ph.D. in Psychology

Ari Bolden
09-17-2003, 12:59 AM

Jamie...I got my phil degree from UVic...Studying master in conflict resolution....

09-17-2003, 01:22 AM
Left school at 16 with minimum qualifications. Been working successfully as a computer engineer for twenty two years.

09-17-2003, 01:37 AM
Hi Ari,