PDA

View Full Version : First Impression

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Wil Branca
09-15-2003, 01:28 PM
I'm a new student of Aikido, having attended just two classes. I'm 36 years old and, in earlier years, was a professional wrestler (yes, the "fake" TV kind). Admittedly, I know virtually nothing about Aikido techniques so far, but as far as philosophy is concerned, I understand it innately.

In my humble personal opinion, ANY program of self-defense study CAN be effective in "real world" confrontations. What makes them effective is not the techniques taught, but rather one's ability to remain calm and focused under pressure. If you acknowledge your initial involuntary fear reaction, you CAN diffuse ANY situation - one way or another.

First example: I've been attacked several times in the following manner: an assailant runs toward me at full speed and consumed with rage (usually drunk). The instinctive reaction might be to charge them in the same fashion in hopes of getting to them before they get to you. What has proven effective for me in situations like this is to remain motionless and use the time it takes your attacker to get closer to you to study him and consider how you will counter his attack. More often than not (as a matter of fact, ALL THE TIME, in my experience), using your opponent's momentum against them works best (if this sounds like Aikido, maybe it is - I don't know - to me, it's wrestling). Prepare to grab his shirt or hair, roll backwards using your feet to support his weight above you through the roll, land on top, choke. By "choke" I mean cut off blood flow to the brain by restricting the jugular veins, rendering your assailant unconscious. Walk away. You'll have about 3 minutes before he regains consciousness, by which time you should be nowhere in sight.