PDA

View Full Version : Question about Nihon Goshin...

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Kyle Lingol
09-07-2003, 03:20 AM
Hello there, I'm a new student of Aikido (as well as a newbie to these forums) and while looking for a dojo in my area I found a style of Aikido that I hadn't heard of before, Nihon Goshin Aikido.

The style has been around for quite some time (as my research on the net proved); I just hadn't read about it before now. And I was wondering if anyone could give their opinions/experiences with this art?

I have a shodan in Jinen-Ryu Karate, and have been studying (reading and taking the occasional 'complimentary lesson' when my schedule permits) Aikido for quite some time now, and really want to get into a dojo to start my training.

I don't want to spark a 'style debate', I was just curious about this style and what it offers and how it's different from say Aikikai (which is the style taught at the dojos that I had visited in the past)?

Thanks
Kyle

deepsoup
09-07-2003, 05:54 AM
Hello there, I'm a new student of Aikido (as well as a newbie to these forums) and while looking for a dojo in my area I found a style of Aikido that I hadn't heard of before, Nihon Goshin Aikido.
Hi Kyle, and welcome.

What most of us mean by 'aikido' is that its the martial art founded by Morihei Ueshiba, and all the various 'styles' (Aikikai, Yoshinkan, Shodokan, Ki Society, etc..) can trace their development back to him.

Nihon Goshin Aikido, on the other hand, has no connection to Ueshiba at all. As far as I'm concerned, that makes it a different martial art. Its not a 'style' of aikido, so much as a separate derivative of jujutsu which just happens to have a very similar name.

As far as Nihon Goshin itself goes, I've never seen it (it doesn't seem to exist outside of the USA), so I can't comment on what its like.

HTH

Sean

Brian Crowley
09-07-2003, 08:44 AM