PDA

View Full Version : Anyone from Montana?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

taylor
08-25-2003, 12:28 AM
My family is relocating next summer, thinking of Missoula, Bozeman, somewhere in Montana as definite possibilites.
I would love to hear from anyone living there, as to what the scene is like.
Lorraine and I are both into aikido, meditation, organic gardening, homeschooling, biking/hiking, music, esp. bluegrass.
She's finishing her Doctorate of Naturopathy here in OR, so we're looking at those states with the most open practice laws, MT being at the top.

Thanks for any info!
-Taylor

camel
08-25-2003, 02:17 AM
Taylor,

I lived in Montana from the time I was eleven until I graduated from college. It is a wonderful state, and has some great aikidojo as well. Missoula and Bozeman each have an excellent ASU-affiliated aikikai style dojo. I can personally vouch for the Bozeman dojo, Big Sky Aikikai, as it is the dojo where I used to train. Check out their website at: www.bozemanaikido.com

Welcome to Montana!

Brett

akiy
08-25-2003, 10:57 AM
Hi Taylor,

I don't know about Bozeman since I haven't been there, but I've visited Missoula and have found it to be a nice place. Some folks think of it like what Boulder was twenty years ago... Raso Hultgren sensei teaches in Missoula. I was hoping to stop off there next month for Saotome sensei but it looks like finances will keep me from going, unfortunately...

Hope you and Lorraine are doing well.

-- Jun

taylor
08-25-2003, 11:36 AM
We're doing well, Jun.

Our little girl, Morgan ihad her 2nd b-day last June; she's becoming a little kid.

The other day she was in the backyard, crosslegged, palms up on her knees, saying "My make a difference, my make a difference," over and over (she says "my" for "I"). No idea where she got it from, but it was really sweet.

I think she's getting ready for something!