PDA

View Full Version : Ikkyo

Please visit our sponsor:

Amin Basri
02-11-2003, 07:03 PM
Hi all,

When i first started aikido,the first technique that my sensei taught was ikkyo.By looking at my sensei demonstrating it,i felt that it was an easy technique to execute but when i tried to do it,it was very hard.So now five months had gone by and i still had difficulty doing ikkyo.My question is well, how to do ikkyo effectively and correctly.And if done correctly what should the uke feel,etc pain.Anyways any pointers on how to do ikkyo correctly will be greatly appreciated.Also feel free to give me any advice on aikido as i am still a newbie in this art.Thanks in advance.

Nick P.
02-11-2003, 09:13 PM
Hi!

As with all moves, the key to them (in my humble opinion) is to be standing in the right place, i.e. move your center to the right spot relative to the attack.

So, if something feels "off", try doing it by entering further/deeper (say at least an inch) for a couple of weeks, then try entering as little as possible. Then, too close, then too far. You should come to a couple of conclusions; first, the move does not remain the same for all attacks/ukes, second, it should be effortless for both you and your uke when done right...which should take about 10 years, people keep reassuring me.

Gopher Boy
02-11-2003, 10:25 PM
Hi Amin!

Thank you for starting a thread on my most favourite technique! I will tell you my (exceptionally bias) recommendation.... beg, plead and bribe your sensei to do more ikkyo! More, more more! (flashback to Billy Idol...)

Seriously (hey - I *was* being serious!) there are a few important points: (these are all done for a left hand attack..)

1. Do not clash! Move the arm with blending in mind.