PDA

View Full Version : Begginner again

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Erik Young
01-28-2003, 08:37 AM
Hello all,
I thought I'd pop in and introduce myself. I'm a new=old beginner. By that, I mean that I studied for about 5 years with Cathy Crane Sensei in the late 80's. Unfortunately, life citrcumstances pulled my away from aikido. I bounced around a bit, trying different tings, kung fu, karate, tai chi, etc.

In any event, I'm returning to aikido at teh age of 32. Actually, I was looking ofr a MA for my son. He has ADHD, and impulisivity leads him to be rather clumsy (he does everything at breakneck speed). Actuaslly, he could be quite physically gifted if his internal awareness of his body and its relation to the rest ofc the world were increased...i.e. his ability to focus and concentrate.

For a couple of eyars I visited varuiosu schools..either I oculd not afford them, or they weren't really what I wanted for Zack. In at least oen case, I found a really good Kempo school with good insturctors and reasonable rates...but I still had a problem teaching my impulsive son how to punch and kick well....right now he's very gentle...seemed risky perhaps.

I finally found this web page and located some local dojos...msot don't offer children's classes. Anyway, I found one that did, and it turns out to be a really great place. I watched a children's class and an advanced adult class. It was like goign home again. I wanted to run on the mat and start training!

It's now been two weeks (3 classes with a fourht one in a couple of days)..I figured, If my son is taking aikido, I should as well...a good father-son activity, eh?

Zack is taking to it like a duck to water...the only other time I see him as focused as when he's on the mat is when he's playing video games...it's really amazing. Some of that clunsiness jsut melts away.

As for me, I'm having fun but have a few challenges to overcome.