PDA

View Full Version : cross-training

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Amin Basri
11-26-2002, 07:08 AM
Hi,

I am a beginner in aikido and i am planning to take up ninjado as well.Should i train a few more years in aikido before taking up ninjado or can i train both at the same time.Can i have your views and advice on cross training in other martial arts while doing aikido.Thanks

Regards,
AB

Tim Griffiths
11-26-2002, 08:09 AM
Hi,

I am a beginner in aikido and i am planning to take up ninjado as well.Should i train a few more years in aikido before taking up ninjado or can i train both at the same time.Can i have your views and advice on cross training in other martial arts while doing aikido.Thanks

Regards,

AB
This question comes up quite a lot - try a search on crosstraining for peoples opinions.

I'll assume you're talking about just the unarmed fighting (taijitsu) of the common ninja schools, rather than the whole bundle of 'ninja' arts: ninjitsu (stealth), kenjitsu (swordwork), shurikenjitsu, and almost any other weapon with '-jitsu' on the end.

There are some problems with crosstraining:

1. Aikido is aikido and ninjitsu (ninjado) is ninjitsu. To do both you should understand both. As a beginner in both, your aikido won't work in the ninjado dojo, and your ninjado won't work in the aikido dojo. You'll just annoy people in both.

2. Some things will be directly opposite. For example aikido rolls will be soft and finish standing, ninjitsu rolls are like ju-jitsu rolls - a big slap and you finish lying down. There are good reasons for both, but it'll be confusing until you understand why, and you will start doing one kind of roll in the other, again causing problems for you and your partners.