PDA

View Full Version : What brought you to Aikido?

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Nick
09-10-2000, 04:43 PM
Or, I suppose, it could also be "what made you stay in Aikido?"

I'd like to see how others got started down this path.

-Nick

HenryB
09-10-2000, 05:18 PM
Hi,

I'm relatively new to aikido, I have been training regularly for about a year now. When I started uni here in Glasgow, I fancied trying a martial art, but I had only really heard of karate, so I went to that a few times, but found it did not really appeal to me.

A friend of mine had heard of something called aikido, and thought he would like to try that, but did not want to go along by himself. I had planned to watch TV that night, but I thought I would go along with him so that he could try it. Brian gave up after three sessions, and I'm training every other day, even after a year. I still have not forgiven him - I've missed so much TV this year. :)

How did you start?

Henry

Nick
09-10-2000, 05:34 PM
me? The dojo was on the way to my karate dojo. Having wanted to take up some form of kendo (by this I mean The Way of the Sword, not just the art of kendo), and being unsuccessful, when I heard somewhere that Aikido did stuff like that, I decided to take a chance. So one night after karate, we stopped by there, where a man whom I would later call Shihan was teaching jo waza. one of the yudansha came over and spoke to us, and I decided to make the next class, which was saturday at 10 in the morning. I grabbed a white belt and a clean gi, and went in. There I found two sempai, and a white belt that stopped trainly shortly after than I. After a warmup session that had me gasping for breath, I stumbled through basic ukemi, than worked on an odd wrist technique (which would later be renamed ikkyo) with a sankyo style submission (just imagine you're shaking my hand, they kept saying). I knew then I was going to come back.