PDA

View Full Version : Is the Aikidoka losing faith in their own martial art? I hope not.

Please visit our sponsor:

Cromwell
02-27-2017, 04:33 AM
I finally published an article I've been writing now for a couple of months about UFC and Aikido (http://goodaikido.com/ufc_aikido/). It took a couple of months to write because I wanted to honestly express how I feel about the reputation of Aikido in the martial arts world.

Like most of the articles I wrote in the past, some people like it, and some people don't. That's fine with me. That's part of the job, and that is what happens when one voices their thoughts in writing and in public.

I was happy that most of the Aikidoka that was engaged by the article liked and shared it, I guess they agree with me.

With a thick skin, I also read the comments section. Some are valid and some don't even bother reading the article, they just wanted to comment their point of view. That's also fine.

With this article and with this particular subject of UFC and Aikido, I noticed something I believe is worth noting in the comments section. A lot of Aikidokas (if they were practising Aikidoka) don't believe that Aikido will stand a chance as a martial art or even as a self-defence system against violence.

Yes the UFC is arguably and maybe currently one of the toughest places to test a martial artist's skills, that besides the point I am trying to put across. What I noticed are commenters giving three, four, five reasons why Aikido doesn't work as a martial art. Let me say this... you only need one reason for anything not to work, not five.

My concern is this... Is the Aikidoka losing faith in their own martial art? I hope not. I am planning on practicing Aikido (like Osensei did) until I am in my 90s.

grondahl
02-27-2017, 05:25 AM