PDA

View Full Version : Hi!

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Hundred Eyes
02-05-2017, 12:29 PM
Hi all!

I'm a third year university student in Scotland and started Aikido last week. I've really enjoyed it so far and hope to do so for a very long time! I did Karate for three years when I was at high school in Italy, but haven't practised any martial arts since.

I ordered a book (https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/Best_Aikido.html?id=ch5_Cjnu_pkC&redir_esc=y) on Aikido last night (it was really hard to find for a reasonable price); if you can recommend any other books, websites, etc., let me know.

Other than that, I'm really glad to be here! I hope to learn a lot.

akiy
02-06-2017, 11:58 PM
Hi Alessandro,

Welcome to AikiWeb. I hope you'll feel welcome in joining the discussions here.

-- Jun

fatebass21
02-07-2017, 05:54 AM
Welcome!

Check out Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere

Peter Goldsbury
02-07-2017, 06:29 AM
Hi all!

I'm a third year university student in Scotland and started Aikido last week. I've really enjoyed it so far and hope to do so for a very long time! I did Karate for three years when I was at high school in Italy, but haven't practised any martial arts since.

I ordered a book (https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/Best_Aikido.html?id=ch5_Cjnu_pkC&redir_esc=y) on Aikido last night (it was really hard to find for a reasonable price); if you can recommend any other books, websites, etc., let me know.

Other than that, I'm really glad to be here! I hope to learn a lot.

Hello,

Welcome to AikiWeb.

Are you training in a university dojo aimed at students, or in a regular dojo catering for the general public? I ask because when I started, I also consulted books such as Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere, but benefited much more from regular hands-on sessions with my instructor. These sessions gave me a general framework and context, such that later study with books became more useful.