PDA

View Full Version : How to practice Atemi

Please visit our sponsor:

Dothemo
02-12-2015, 04:41 AM
G'day,

I am after people's thoughts on working on improving ones Atemi. Recently I was taught that Aikido can be up to %80 percent Atemi, in my limited experience of Aikido so far I can see the truth in this. Before Aikido many years ago I trained in kickboxing. I trained in it very hard for a year and know the basics, my strength is a right cross in boxing stance properly grounded. That is the one technique I became really good at. So the Atemi that I am learning is very different from western boxing/kickboxing utilizing things like backfists and mini punches thrown in (what feels like to me as I am a beginner) awkward positions. I must say I am fascinated by Aikido Atemi and what I have learned but I'd like to practice it and learn a bit more about it out of class as I feel a little awkward. Especially when doing a knuckled back fist, I just don't feel snappy and powerful like boxing. So, Google didn't turn up a whole lot. Can anyone recommend a good book that has a section on learning and practicing Atemi for Aikido? Should I practice the strikes from techniques I have learnt in Kamai perhaps on a boxing bag? Thank you kindly for any advice and thoughts.

-Dothemo

phitruong
02-12-2015, 07:19 AM
i wouldn't learn atemi from aikido. that would be an exercise in frustration. try learning it from a good wingchun or JKD school. and i would encourage you to explore Systema striking approach. i found Systema striking approach fits well with aikido. their strikes flow with the moves, with no wind up, with extreme relaxation, and it has the tendency to penetrate deep inside the body of your target. the Systema folks also teach you how to take strikes too, with relaxation, not tensing up. it hurts more when you tensing up.