PDA

View Full Version : Rediscovering My Love for Aikido

Please visit our sponsor:

kedarvandan
06-05-2014, 07:06 PM
Will anybody read this? Maybe not. It's just the story of one man's fascination with the martial art of Aikido, but I'll write it anyway. Ever since my parents allowed me to go to my first Tae Kwon Do lesson the martial arts have become part of my being. It began as most kids interest does as a desire to defend myself from bullies at school. As I attended classes and learned the katas, the kicks and the punches I became more confident and less afraid. I was able to become more aware of myself and the people around me as they truly were instead of how my fear made me perceive them. My shy nature began to disappear and I began to actually enjoy being with other people, something I thought would never happen. Looking back now, I can see that martial arts played a big part of my development as a human being. I studied Tae Kwon Do, Jung Sim Do, Hapkido and even a little Kung Fu. I absorbed as much Asian culture as I could while living in Southern West Virginia, working and attending school. As much as I love the martial arts I allowed life to pull me away with a wife and kids and trying to make a living and pay the bills. The martial arts seemed to go the way of so many of my other childhood dreams pushed to the back of my mind, but not out of my mind completely. It was always there. Then I saw a Stephen Seagal movie, his first one in 1988, and all the times spent in the dojo came back as I watched him move and defend himself with a martial art I had up to that point been unaware of. Aikido. I watched Above the Law probably a hundred times watching the techniques and playing them over and over in my mind. When I found my first Aikido school in St Albans, WV with Master Roger Jarrett I knew I had found my martial arts home. A martial art not based on attack but solely based on defense. No resistance only acceptance. No aggression only love. A martial art