PDA

View Full Version : How to become an Uchi-deshi

Please visit our sponsor:

wanderingwriath
07-25-2002, 11:51 PM
First I'd like to say hello to everyone. Second, I'm a newbie in here and I fear I may have already stepped on toes somewhere. I apologize ahead of time.

My question really concerns something I'm sure all Aikidoka would romanticize about at least to some extent. How would one go about becoming an uchi-deshi at say the hombu dojo? Failing that one of Ueshiba's own uchi-deshi's dojo's? Failing that (incredibly long winded: sorry :rolleyes: ) one of K. Ueshiba's uchi-deshi? and so on. Bear in mind that I'm a total green horn and all of this is just a moment of pure escapism.
Thanx.;)

Chris Li
07-26-2002, 12:23 AM
First I'd like to say hello to everyone. Second, I'm a newbie in here and I fear I may have already stepped on toes somewhere. I apologize ahead of time.

My question really concerns something I'm sure all Aikidoka would romanticize about at least to some extent. How would one go about becoming an uchi-deshi at say the hombu dojo? Failing that one of Ueshiba's own uchi-deshi's dojo's? Failing that (incredibly long winded: sorry :rolleyes: ) one of K. Ueshiba's uchi-deshi? and so on. Bear in mind that I'm a total green horn and all of this is just a moment of pure escapism.

Thanx.;)

At Aikikai hombu I would suggest just going and training a lot - some foreigners end up living in the dojo for a while, but there really isn't an easy way into the uchi-deshi program. There are places in Tokyo like Kobayashi Dojo and Shindo Dojo that take in uchi-deshi, probably others if you look around. Iwama does, but you need to be practicing Iwama style already.

K. Ueshiba's dead, so becoming his uchi-deshi might be a little bit difficult - or not, depending on how you think of those things :).

Best,

Chris

Bronson
07-26-2002, 01:26 AM