PDA

View Full Version : Art of Falling

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Leonard Mayer
06-15-2002, 04:22 PM
I am a beginning aikido student. I have been trying forward rolls and backward rolls. I find that forward rolls are very frustrating. I have injured my shoulder and elbow muscles. To recuperate, I swim and try some slow muscle curling exercises such as arm curls, front lifts, and lateral lifts to build up muscle strength. I have also purchased a video on the art of falling by Brookman. After my attempts to roll, my elbow muscle pain prevents me from lifting anything. Does anyone have any experience or suggestions to recuperate from such injuries and to learn more easily how to fall without injury.

Katie Jennings
06-15-2002, 04:52 PM
Hi
I'm a beginner too, but i found a good way to do it was just to concentrate on anything else (literally, even the colour of the mats:cool: ) and just let go. It helkped me, because i wasnt stiffening up so much, and although Sensei tells me i still roll on my shoulder, at least its less painful.
Katie:)

shihonage
06-15-2002, 05:02 PM
Originally posted by Leonard Mayer
Does anyone have any experience or suggestions to recuperate from such injuries and to learn more easily how to fall without injury.

You have to trust in the fact that your arms won't collapse during the roll if you don't let them.

guest1234
06-15-2002, 05:31 PM
I cannot think of how you could injure a muscle while rolling, with the exception of pulling a back or leg muscle (leaning wrong in a forward roll), or just bruising them in a wrong fall... but this should not be causing you pain if you try to lift something. Two suggestions: