PDA

View Full Version : Hello, i'm a newbie here and i have questions.

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Lari Hammarberg
12-21-2010, 07:03 PM
Hello everybody.

I'm a new comer here and new to Aikido, you can read my introduction here: http://www.aikiweb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19089

I'm heading to my first Aikido class tomorrow night, and i have load of questions and things to talk about.

First i want to ask about dojo, i'm heading to this local one, rather small, approximately 30 people usually. Is it good for newbie like i to practice in small dojo? I know it depends a lot about the instructors and sensei there, but which one is better, small, thigh knit group or lot of people?

Then i have a question about exercise and practice times, these guys have practice for adults five days a week, twice in my town and three days at their home town, which is loated an hour drive away.. How many days i should pratice with them in a week? I though about at least three days/week.. I have to concider that i dont have friends here to practice with outside the dojo, selfpratice helps, but its not worth the real thing. I also have other time consuming things to do, mainly my music, im a drummer and a musician, our band is rehearsing for our third full length abum at the time and it needs lot of work. (I have my personal technical preparation going on, few months of active training before recordings)