PDA

View Full Version : Books and DVD's for newbie's

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Rayleen Dehmke
03-02-2010, 04:56 PM
Hello everyone,
I am a new aikido student and I am interested in books and DVD's that you found useful in the beginning. Right now I am finishing a biography on Morihei Ueshiba and I have three others-The Essence of Aikido, Budo, and The Secret Teachings of Aikido. I have looked through the DVD and book section here too and there were a couple that looked good to me at this stage.

Domo arigatou gozaimashita.

ninjaqutie
03-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Depends on what you want. The Aikido & the Dynamic Sphere is pretty good. If you like reading about things from another persons view, Dave Lowrey has a few books compiled of his essays he has written over the years. Also, The Book of Five Rings is decent as well. I haven't read it, but some people say Angry White Pajamas is worth a read. It just really depends on whether you want an instructional book, inspirational book, history, etc.

Rayleen Dehmke
03-02-2010, 05:40 PM
Thank you and good point ninjaqutie. For clarification, I am interested in all points of view-instructional, historical.....

crbateman
03-02-2010, 08:44 PM
As you are a beginner, I would suggest that you rely on your instructor to recommend the books and DVD's you study. This is because the beginning of training is a very formative time, and each style and instructor has its/his own particular way of presenting the basics, and studying something presented in a different way could be confusing to you at this stage. As you develop a bit, there will be ample opportunity for you to "spread your wings" a bit more.

RED
03-02-2010, 09:25 PM