PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts from a beginner

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Rayleen Dehmke
02-21-2010, 10:23 PM
Hello everyone!
I am new to Aikido and have no previous martial arts experience. I am so out of my comfort zone and that's a good thing. I am fascinated with the Art. Right now as a beginner I have never felt more awkward in all my life!! My mind draws a blank when all eyes are on me like the other night when we all took turns in front of the class practicing throws :) Whew!! I look forward to progressing and mastering my 'self ', if that makes sense.

Oyasumi nasai.

Janet Rosen
02-21-2010, 10:56 PM
Dear Rayleen - welcome to aikido and to aikiweb. It's been 14 yrs since I started my aikido journey, like you with no m.a. background, but I still remember so well what it was like to have everything so alien - the muscles of my body trying to figure out what I was asking them to do! - yet it never for a moment occurred to me to quit. I spent a good couple of years feeling (as I put it then) "like a happy idiot!"

akiy
02-21-2010, 11:06 PM
Hi Rayleen,

Welcome to AikiWeb and to aikido.

-- Jun

Rayleen Dehmke
02-21-2010, 11:11 PM
Thank you Janet and Jun. Janet, you said it " like a happy idiot", that's how I feel.

ilia rudnitskiy
02-22-2010, 02:25 AM
合気道にようこそ!

Linda Eskin
02-22-2010, 11:37 AM
Welcome, Rayleen! Looking forward to hearing of your adventures.

Linda
At it since last May, and still plenty of happiness and idiocy going on. ;)

Rayleen Dehmke
02-22-2010, 12:52 PM
Thank you Linda. I am looking forward to posting my progress and maybe honing my writing skills to boot. I'm so glad I came across this site :) It's also encouraging to hear from others who have started this later in life. It's never too late to learn.

Anita Dacanay
02-22-2010, 02:06 PM
"Happy idiot" - that is so perfect!