PDA

View Full Version : Issues with Google Chrome


Please visit our sponsor:
 

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!


eyrie
01-19-2010, 09:06 PM
No biggie, but something to note. The Active Topics and Quick Links don't show up in Chrome.

akiy
01-19-2010, 09:39 PM
Hi Ignatius,

Thank you for letting me know. I am looking into an overhaul of the system here that I hope will fix things in the near future. Please stay tuned...

-- Jun

Shannon Frye
01-19-2010, 10:02 PM
Not to contradict, but I'm also using Chrome and everything appears as normal (same as using regular Firefox browser.)

David Maidment
01-20-2010, 12:05 PM
It looks okay for me, too. Chrome's my primary browser. Running dev / beta versions on Linux.

CitoMaramba
01-20-2010, 12:20 PM
I have the same result as Ignatius.. the Active topics and Quick Links don't show up when I use Google Chrome.. I'm using the beta in Linux..

Aikibu
01-20-2010, 01:26 PM
If you guys want to ask tech support questions would you kindly state what OS and Version you're using...Me... Windows 7 with the latest updates and Chrome the same...No issues with the Forum Software in Chrome. :)

Also I have an IMac running OSX 10.5.6 with the latest version of Chrome...No issues there either. :)

William Hazen

Keith Larman
01-20-2010, 03:00 PM
No issues here. Updated Chrome, Windows 7. Also on my netbook under WinXP -- no issues. FWIW

eyrie
01-20-2010, 08:30 PM
If you guys want to ask tech support questions would you kindly state what OS and Version you're using...Me... Windows 7 with the latest updates and Chrome the same...No issues with the Forum Software in Chrome. :)

Also I have an IMac running OSX 10.5.6 with the latest version of Chrome...No issues there either. :)
It wasn't a tech support question... Why? Are you offering William? :p

FWIW, Chrome 4.0.249.43 Linux beta 64.deb

Aikibu
01-21-2010, 11:24 AM
It wasn't a tech support question... Why? Are you offering William? :p

FWIW, Chrome 4.0.249.43 Linux beta 64.deb

Sure Teo....I can help you if you need it. :)

My post was not so much about tech support as letting the dear reader know what OS Environment you're using so that Jun can establish a information baseline.

Personally I would be surprised if there were more than a few folks running a 64 bit Linux Beta build on their primary box. :)

William Hazen

Give it another 10 years though and we'll all be on Linux Boxes. :D LOL

David Maidment
01-21-2010, 12:55 PM
I didn't realise there were so many fellow Linux users here!

Reckless as I may be, I've been using Chrome as my primary browser at work (my job is done from within a browser) since the first Linux dev builds were released. It's nice being the IT guy at work -- you get to decide which OS you run :)

eyrie
01-22-2010, 02:32 AM
Oh, I got jacked of Windoze, and couldn't be bothered to wait (or pay) for Win7, or pay for upgrade to Vista (uh uh), or XP64 (pointless), so I switched to Ubuntu. I have no need to run Windoze programs other than to test Internet Exploder - which I can still run under XP in a VirtualBox - IF I really really REALLY need to, since everything else I need is available in Linux and/or OSS. The only video game I play these days is UrT - which works soooo much under 64bit Linux. :p

So, how come it looks OK for you David? Are you saying you're not missing the Active Topics and Quick Links?

David Maidment
01-22-2010, 11:36 AM
I've just had a closer look at my links. Odd thing; they aren't there after all. However, I have two extra links that I don't have in Firefox. I didn't think I was missing any links because the same amount were present.

Is vBulletin assuming we're using IE and displaying different HTML because Chrome isn't on some old User Agent whitelist, perhaps?

On a sidenote, if you install the PlayOnLinux package, you can install IE under WINE, so no need for a VM. All my games are old, so DOSBox works fine :D Although I did get Age of Empires III running smoothly under WINE.

eyrie
01-22-2010, 05:16 PM
Under FF, the links read:
Preferences, AikiBlogs, New Posts, Active Topics, Search, Quick Links, Log Out

In Chrome, it's:
Preferences, AikiBlogs, Search, New Posts, Mark Forums Read, Open Buddy List, Log Out

Also, the extended drop menu items appear in FF, but not in Chrome. So the extra functions under AikiBlog, Search don't appear either (Active Topic and Quick Links are missing altogether).

But the user agent says Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.5 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/4.0.249.43 Safari/532.5 - wonder if vBulletin is detecting it as Safari? And whether Safari is showing up different links as well?

Sidenote: I tried installing IE under Wine (both 1.0.1 stable and 1.1.35 dev) - no go. PlayOnLinux insisted on installing IE6, which is like so last decade. IE6 just looked poxy and wouldn't render stuff correctly - and for web app testing purposes, was next to useless. IE8 refused to install at all.

David Maidment
01-22-2010, 05:45 PM
Hmm... PlayOnLinux installed IE7 for me first time without any problems. I think you can also get it to do IE8, but I haven't tried that myself.

Safari seems to be showing exactly the same links as in Chrome. I'm guessing it's a WebKit vs. Gecko vs. Trident issue? No idea what the forum software is trying to steer clear of; all of the major browsers -- even IE -- should have no problem with any of the links/menus/etc.

eyrie
01-22-2010, 08:40 PM
Nah, just tried installing IE8 again under Wine 1.1.36 with winetricks... way too many issues, rendering bugs, locks up on save settings, etc... Soooo, I'm not *that* desperate to run IE8 natively. Pointless considering that certain original XP drivers need to be installed under Wine, without necessarily resolving several key issues. (See also http://www.wine-reviews.net/wine-reviews/microsoft/internet-explorer-8-on-linux-with-wine.html).

IIRC, vBulletin does a user agent string check to gracefully downgrade specific features. Since several different browsers use the Mozilla code base, it must do an additional check for specific browser signatures. The fact that Safari and Chrome both show exactly the same links indicates it is most likely a Webkit vs Gecko issue.

It's no real biggie anyway... I can live with it, or use FF. It's just that I'm using Chrome for normal browsing and FF for development.