PDA

View Full Version : Ikkyo

Please visit our sponsor:

Aikidonewbie
12-13-2009, 08:42 AM
I have a problem when I apply Ikkyo. I am 6'2 so, for instance once I have grabbed my opponent's arm and turned my hips into the motion, my opponent is bent pretty far down, and I am still in a standing position and unable to exert any real force on their arm, I found that I have to lean over to get closer to the arm. So usually this results in a clumsy motion with Uke having to pretend and assist me. Anybody ahve any tips for this problem? I am a beginner by the way...

raul rodrigo
12-13-2009, 08:57 AM
Why do you need to get closer to the arm? You're holding it.

Shadowfax
12-13-2009, 09:05 AM
Bend your knees....You don't need a whole lot of force as long as you have Ukes balance.

ChrisHein
12-13-2009, 10:09 AM
Bend your knees....You don't need a whole lot of force as long as you have Ukes balance.

I agree with this comment. Once your weight is over uke, unless uke is shifting his weight backward (not proper ukemi for ikkyo) you should be able to simply bend your knees and bring him down.

If you are having a problem with this still, because you don't quite have uke when you are at the rest position (standing with uke controlled in ikkyo in front of you) then you can step at an angle to uke's body; through the armpit of the arm you are applying ikkyo to. This will bring most down, if they are taking the proper ukemi for ikkyo.

Aikidonewbie
12-13-2009, 11:24 AM
I agree with this comment. Once your weight is over uke, unless uke is shifting his weight backward (not proper ukemi for ikkyo) you should be able to simply bend your knees and bring him down.