View Full Version : Hello Everyone!!!!!!

Please visit our sponsor:

AikiWeb Sponsored Links - Place your Aikido link here for only $10!

Tyler Youngren
11-24-2009, 10:26 PM
hello everyone :)

My name is Tyler I am a 30 year old disabled Male.

I have been disabled my whole life. I have Cerebral Palsy.

I have used a manual wheelchair my whole life and I live a very active lifestyle. I currently swim a mile at least twice a week and I love it.

I enjoy both playing and watching sports I am also a huge movie buff.

I am very interested aikido. when I was about 9 years old I studied Tae Kwon Do for a short time.

now that I have some more free time I would like to take up a martial art again and aikido has peeked my interest.

I have come to this site and forums to educate myself about aikido and to help discover if it is an art I can and should persue.

I am looking to gain some more balance in my life from both a physical and mental perspective. I also very interested in the history and culture of aikido. I would also love to be able to defended myself if the need ever arose but this is not a primary concern :)

Thanks for reading this and thanks for the very informative site.:D

11-25-2009, 03:46 AM
Hi Tyler, your seeking the art is already a step in the right direction. Your thirst for knowledge is a door that you've opened.
Your physical lifestyle is one more tool in your arsenal.

Find the right teacher and Aikido will be yours for the taking.

11-25-2009, 06:18 AM
I'd heard, and been really surprised, that disabled people could do martial arts. I felt really ignorant about it, and about martial arts in general. This is awesome, though, I hope you can end up getting something out of Aikido!

11-25-2009, 09:36 AM
Hi Tyler,

Welcome to AikiWeb.

I just posted a news article about a gentleman with Parkinson's disease who has a student with cerebral palsy:

I hope you can find a good dojo near you.

-- Jun

Tyler Youngren
11-25-2009, 03:49 PM