PDA

View Full Version : 055) The Dojo- A Crucible of Honesty: Week of September 27, 2009

Please visit our sponsor:

Marc Abrams
09-27-2009, 07:30 PM
My life as a psychologist heightens my sense of appreciation for my budo training.  In my “day job,” I am confronted with the use of language as a means by which others try and hide reality from both themselves and from others.  I have personally used Aikido as my form of “therapy” where I cannot hide from how it is that I address and handle conflicts and relationships with others.  I started learning Aikido because I did not like who I could be when I dealt with conflicts.  My history in “hard” fighting arts and sports enabled me to get in touch with the meanness that resides in all of us.  It served a role in my earlier life and I wanted to be able to move beyond having to access that part of my being as often as I did.
Aikido has taught me a lot about how to be more caring and connected with others in venues outside of my professional life.  I truly believe that learning from my teacher, Imaizumi Sensei, helped me to mature into a more centered and nicer person.  One does not rid ones self of the potential for meanness.  I simply learned that I did not have to access that part of myself as much as I once believed that I had to.
I would simply be a liar to not acknowledge Ellis Amdur’s observation about many people misusing their Aikido as a venue to express anger in a passive-aggressive manner.  However, I have found that the people who have moved to Aikido from backgrounds in more combative arts, do not seem to have that same need to use their Aikido as a playground for passive-aggressive behaviors (generally speaking).  No matter how one chooses to express one’s Aikido in a dojo, the dojo environment is a crucible in which these forms of expressions become apparent to all.